Your body is home to your spirit. We must care for our spirit’s home in both physical and spiritual ways so it functions at an optimal state for as long as the spirit needs it to navigate the physical world. Without the body, the spirit can not experience… anything. Not a hug or a good cup of coffee.

I very much believe in reincarnation and that each life is filled with lessons our spirit needs to learn on our road to enlightenment and returning to the Divine – no matter who or what we consider to be the Divine.

The spirit brings to its vessel tons of universal energy via energy points called chakras. There are seven major chakras from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. When the chakras are functioning at its best, they allow a free flow of energy, facilitating a balanced and healthy life. This gives you the ability to connect with the Divine and receive blessings of abundance. Sometimes the chakras need a bit of TLC to be at its best. Meditation, positivity and love for yourself and others is the best medicine out there. To help you along your path, here is a quick guide to the chakras.

The Muladhara Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Muladhara chakra is also known as the root chakra and it is your base of power.

This chakra establishes survival, stability, and security in the physical world. It is where you create your foundation and store your beliefs about yourself.

Color association: Red

Hindu God association: Lord Ganesh

Recommended Mantra: Om Gum Ganapatiyai Namah (om gum gana-pati-yay! nah-mah) This mantra is said to have the power to remove all obstacles – both physical world and spiritual.

Recommended Mudra: Ganesh Mudra

The Svadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Svadhisthana chakra is the 2nd chakra. This is where your emotional and creative energies can be addressed. My belief is that when the root chakra is “happy” that energy is exhibited here, translated into physical-world emotions. If you’re feeling down, that emotion can be traced backed to a survival, security or stability issue. Meditating upon this chakra can help you either amplify good feelings or calm anxious feelings – it’s all about the intention you set when focusing on this chakra.

Color association: Orange

Hindu God association: Lord Vishnu

Recommended Mantra: Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya (om na-mo bah-ga-vah-tey -vah-sue-day-vah-ya) This mantra is said to deliver overall feelings of goodness, well-being, happiness.

Recommended Mudra: Dhyana mudra

The Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Manipura chakra is the 3rd chakra and it is a source of personal power, your self-esteem, warrior energy, and the power of transformation. The energy here is what fires your willpower and self esteem.

Color association: Yellow

Hindu God association: Lord Rudra

Recommended Mantra: Om Tatpurushaya Vidmahe Mahadevaya Dhimahi Tanno Rudrah Prachodayat (om tat-peru-shy-yay vid-mah-he ma-ha-day-vah-ya dee-mah-hi tah-no ru-draw pra-cho-dye-aht)

Alternative Mantra: Om Namah (om nah-mah)

Recommended Mudra: Om Mudra

The Anahata (Heart) Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Anahata chakra is our fourth chakra and serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

Color association: Green

Hindu God association: The one you feel closest to. Being your heart chakra, this chakra is what connects you to that higher power/deity that you hold in your heart. When in doubt, think back to which was more prevalent in your childhood. An alternative is to choose a form of Shakti (Durga, Kali, Lakshmi, Saraswati).

Recommended Mantra: Determined by personal choice.

Alternative Mantra: For the four forms of Shakti listed above:

Durga:Om Dum Durgayei Namah (Om doom dur-ga-yay na-ma-ha)

Kali:Om Krim Kalikayai Namah (Om kream kah-lee-ka-yay na-ma-ha)

Lakshmi:Om Shri Maha Lakshmyai Namah (Om shree ma-ha-lock-shmee-yay na-ma-ha)

Saraswati:Om Shri Saraswati Namaha (Om shree sah-rahs-wah-ti na-ma-ha)

Recommended Mudra: Determined by personal choice of God.

Alternative Mudras: For the four forms of Shakti listed above:

Durga: Durga Mudra

Kali: Kali Mudra

Lakshmi: Padma Mudra

Sarawati: Vitarka Mudra

The Vishuddha Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Vishuddha chakra is our 5th chakra and it’s where our power of manifestation comes from. Have you ever heard the saying, “Words have power”? They weren’t kidding.

Color Association: Blue

Hindu God association: Ardhanarishvara

Recommended Mantra:
Om Satchitananda Parabrahma, Purushothama Paramatma
Sri Bhagavathi Sametha, Sri Bhagavathe Namaha (om sat-chit-ah-nan-da pah-rah-bram-ha peru-show-toe-ma pah-rah-aht-ma shree bah-gah-vah-tee sah-me-tah shree bah-gah-vah-ta na-ma-ha)

Alternative Mantra: Om Namah (om nah-mah)

Recommended Mudra: Dhyana mudra

The Ajna Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Ajna chakra is our 6th chakra and is also known as our third eye. This is your center of intuition. Your “sixth sense”.

Color Association: Violet/Purple/Indigo

Hindu God association: Lord Shiva

Recommended Mantra: Om Namah Shivaya (om na-mah she-vy-ya)

Recommended Mudra: Om Mudra

The Sahasrara Chakra

Chakra Quick Guide  The Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head/crown and is our connection to the universe and the Divine. It is our source of enlightenment and spiritual connection allowing us to experience unity and the selfless realization that everything is connected.

Color Association: White/Silver

Hindu God association: Your personal deity. See Anahata chakra information above.

Recommended Mantra: See Anahata chakra information above.

Alternative Mantra: Om Namah (om nah-mah)

Recommended Mudra: Om Mudra

Where are the Chakras located?

Chakra Quick Guide


After an early morning of meditation, Vanita spends her day shuttling kids in, around, and through her New York apartment while helping women build their online empires. Most evenings, she’s burning dinner in hopes that her hubby will show mercy on their four kids and cook an edible meal. Descended from a choppy line of reluctant shamans, she has taken the gifts from this legacy and stepped into her role with the goal to help her fellow humans help themselves. Vanita is an Ordained Spiritual Minister, an Ordained Shamanic Shakti Priestess, and a Certified Reiki Master. Vanita is also an experienced Oracle and Chakra Energy Reader.

Write A Comment

Pin It